No Evidence Needed, Soul, Shocking & Doubtful Jack Triumphant At Flemington Racecourse

September 5th, 2010

Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse continued to host the Spring Carnival Racing on Saturday, with nine thrilling races taking to the track.

Many punters would have received some great payouts if they went against the odds with

The Group Two Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) headlined the action with its star-studded final field, and saw defending Melbourne Cup champion Shocking claim the win.

It was a strong run from the five-year-old, which bettered his first up spring seventh in the Group Two JJ Liston Stakes (1400m) last month.

The Group Two Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m) was the first feature to take to the track with 13 runners. No Evidence Needed claimed the stunning win, defeating Response into second place.

The sixth race of the day was the Group Two Danehill Stakes (1200m) which saw a surprisingly strong run from the lightly raced Soul.

The three-year-old beat Buffering and General Truce to salute in the race.

Rounding out the Group action was the penultimate race of the day – the Group Three Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m).

Doubtful Jack overcame the odds at to claim the victory ahead of Beltrois and About Ready, proving to punters it benefits to compare odds.

If you would like to follow the spring campaign of any of the runners this weekend then head to

There you will find the latest odds and markets for all racing coming up in Australia and the world.

2010 Let’s Elope Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 No Evidence Needed John P Thompson James Winks
2 Response Matthew Ellerton & Simon Mazhra Craig Williams
3 Live In Sin Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
4 Lady Lynette Robert Smerdon Nicholas Hall
5 Believe ‘N achieve Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
6 Mont Fleuri Lee Freedman Dwayne Dunn
7 Irish Lights David Hayes Steven Arnold
8 Dariana Bart Cummings Damien Oliver
9 Two Hills Allen Browell Darren Gauci
10 Silent Surround William Smart Simon Price
11 Small Minds John P Thompson Dean Holland
12 Rhythm In Paris Jason Warren Ben Melham
13 My Emotion (NZ) Michael Kent Brad Rawiller
Scratched Tonic Darren Weir Steven King

2010 Danehill Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Soul Peter Snowden Mark Zahra
2 Buffering Robert Heathcote Danny Nikolic
3 General Truce Ricky Maund Jim Cassidy
4 Smokin’ Joey Lee Freedman Damien Oliver
5 Rekindled Interest Jim Conlan Craig Williams
6 Military Rose Gillian Heinrich Dwayne Dunn
7 Storm Burst Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
8 Innocent Gamble Mark Riley Nicholas Hall
9 Columbus David Hayes Brad Rawiller
Scratched Star Witness Danny O’Brien James Winks
Scratched Shrapnel Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd

2010 Makybe Diva Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Shocking Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
2 Heart Of Dreams Mick Price Damien Oliver
3 Vigor (NZ) Danny O’Brien James Winks
4 Danleigh Chris Waller Jim Cassidy
5 C’Est La Guerre (NZ) Robert Hickmott Danny Nikolic
6 Zavite (NZ) Anthony Cummings Ban Melham
7 Monaco Consul (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams
8 Speed Gifted (GB) Lee Freedman Luke Nolen
9 Sterling Prince (NZ) Wayne Hillis Steven King
10 Doctor Fremantle (GB) Lee Freedman Mark Zahra
11 Red Ruler (NZ) John Sargent Craig Newitt
12 Chartreux David Hayes Brad Rawiller
13 Master O’Reilly (NZ) Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn
14 Mourayan (IRE) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall
15 Rebel Raider Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop
16 Alandi (IRE) Robert Hickmott Steven Arnold
Scratched Baughurst Bill & Symon Wilde Michelle Payne
Scratched Fanjura (IRE) Lee Freedman Dwayne Dunn
Scratched Ghostmilk (IRE) Peter G Moody

2010 Bobbie Lewis Quality Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Doubtful Jack Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
2 Beltrois Robbie Griffiths Craig Williams
3 About Ready Mick Price Craig Newitt
4 Perturbo C & C Alderson Ben Melham
5 Leica Larrikin Richard Freyer Mathew Cahill
6 Sweepstaking Gillian Heinrich Dwayne Dunn
7 Life To The Full D & S Brunton Nicholas Hall
8 We’re Gonna Rock Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
9 The Fuzz (NZ) David Hayes Brad Rawiller
10 Love Conquers All M,W & J Hawkes Jim Cassidy
Scratched Swick (NZ) Bart Cummings James Winks
Scratched Chasm Heath Conners Mark Zahra